Benoni Zalmi Players List

Benoni Zalmi Team Squad Players List

Benoni Zalmi Team Squad Players ListThe Benoni squad for the T20 Global League will be updated in this article. The inaugural season of the T20 Global League, South Africa will feature the lovely city of Benoni, as one of the eight city based franchises to play in the league.

This is the first time that the city has been put on the cricket map on such a grand scale, and the fans in the region couldn’t be more excited. The franchise will host its matches in the Willowmoore Park, which although does host international matches, the number certainly differs in comparison to other big stadiums.

However, all that is about to change later this year when Benoni will see its fair share of T20 matches. The marquee player for each team has already been decided, with the 24-year-old Protean Quinton de Kock set to play for the East Rand city.

At such a young age, Quinton has already made a name for himself in cricket. He is a prolific batsman in the ODI and T20 formats, and appears regularly in the South African National Team.

Moreover, he holds plenty of experience from playing in the Indian Super League as a top order batsman, which is certainly going to be beneficial for him. He will have a chance to play alongside international marquee players like Jason Roy, the England opener who has the capability to smash the bowling around to smithereens.

Albie Morkel will look to add to his T20 career, which has already seen him play 298 Twenty20 matches. Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz has also been signed up as is his countryman and batsman Umar Akmal, who would love to resurrect his career.

Some of the others in the line-up include David Wiese, Dean Elgar and Mohammad Nawaz.

Graeme Smith was recently appointed team’s head coach, having last featured in a competitive game as recently as 2014. Geoffrey Toyana will be Smith’s assistant at Benoni.

The owner of the franchise is Javed Afridi, who is the CEO of Haier Pakistan. He also owns the Pakistan Super League team Peshawar Zalmi, who won the 2017 season. He is an avid fan of the sport and is working relentlessly towards building the sport in his homeland.

He took his love for cricket to another level by investing in the Benoni team franchise. Needless to mention, he will be hoping for a similar success here, as he got in the PSL. Benoni Zalmi squad team players list 2017 is placed below.

Benoni Zalmi Squad 2017

  • Quinton de Kock
  • Jason Roy
  • Albie Morkel
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Umar Akmal
  • Lungi Ngidi
  • David Wiese
  • Eddie Leie
  • Pite van Biljon
  • Leus Du Plooy
  • Dillon Du Preez
  • Dean Elgar
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • George Linde
  • Rivaldo Moonsamy
  • Calvin Savage
  • Carmi le Roux
  • Tshepo Moreki

What will be the Benoni Zalmi’s potential Playing XI for the T20 Global League opener?

Quinton de Kock, Jason Roy, Pite van Biljon, Umar Akmal, Albie Morkel, Leus du Plooy, Dillon du Preez, David Wiese, Lungi Ngidi, Wahab Riaz, Eddie Leie

4 comments… add one
  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 11, 2017, 4:35 pm

    Notify me when the BENONI team name & logo is released I can’t wait.

  • Wahaj Haider July 28, 2017, 9:10 pm

    Shaid khan fridi

  • Wahaj Haider July 28, 2017, 9:11 pm

    Shide khan fridi

  • Rizwan September 15, 2017, 11:58 am

    Benoni zalmi zindabad


Leave a Comment