Bloemfontein Team Squad T20 Global League 2017

Bloem City Blazers Team Squad Players List

Bloem City Blazers team squadThe latest Bloemfontein squad for the first ever season of the T20 Global League will be placed here. The sixth largest city in South Africa, Bloemfontein is going to be one of the eight participants in the inaugural edition of the T20 Global League. The team is officially named Bloem City Blazers.

While David Miller was named their domestic marquee player and might well captain the side, West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard will join the Bloem City Blazers as their overseas marquee cricketer.

Pollard was also selected to captain the Bloem City Blazers squad in this opening edition of the competition.

Among the rest, the more prominent players who have been signed up by the Blazers during the Global T20 League Draft are South Africa’s Dane Peterson, England pace bowler Chris Jordan and Dwayne Smith, the West Indian opening batsman.

Aaron Phangiso also gets a pick, while Morne van Wyk might don the gloves for them, even as Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate adds another team to his list of sides he’s played for in T20 cricket. Beuran Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn are the other Saffers in the line-up.

The city-based franchise will be competing against the likes of other cities such as Pretoria, Durban, Cape Town and others, to be crowned as the maiden champions of the South Africa’s very own domestic T20 tournament.

The home matches for Bloemfontein will be played in the Mangaung Oval, which has seen a dearth of quality T20 games over the years. However, with T20 Global League set to entertain the cricket enthusiasts in the country, the fans in the region will have something to look forward to.

The Bloemfontein franchise is owned by Sushil Kumar, a prominent businessman, who is currently the owner of City Sports South Africa Limited. Owing to his efforts, the Bloemfontein people will now get to witness some quality cricket games, comprising of several national and international players.

Cricket South Africa, the governing body of the T20 Global League, had decided on two marquee players for every franchise – national and international.

The Bloem City Blazers have also begun naming their coaching staff, with Robin Peterson joining the squad as assistant coach. Allan Donald, the former Proteas pacer, is their bowling mentor while also donning the responsibility of a brand ambassador for the team.

These two will be reporting to the head coach, Robin Singh, who has also been a part of the Mumbai Indians setup before this.

The T20 Global League will be played in November-December. Watch this space as we bring you the latest news on this front. Bloem City Blazers squad team players list 2017 is placed below.

Bloem City Blazers 2017 Squad

  • Kieron Pollard (captain)
  • David Miller
  • Dane Paterson
  • Chris Jordan
  • Dwayne Smith
  • Shaun von Berg
  • Aaron Phangiso
  • Morne Van Wyk
  • Beuran Hendricks
  • Theunis De Bruyn
  • Janneman Malan
  • Ryan Ten Doeschate
  • Clyde Fortuin
  • Rayad Emrit
  • Werner Coetsee
  • Yaseen Vallie
  • Akhona Mnyaka
  • Keegan Petersen

What will be the Bloem City Blazers’ potential Playing XI for the Global League T20 opener?

Morne van Wyk (wk), Dwayne Smith, Theunis de Bruyn, David Miller, Ryan ten Doeschate, Kieron Pollard, Janneman Malan, Chris Jordan, Aaron Phangiso, Beuran Hendricks, Dane Paterson

2 comments… add one
  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 18, 2017, 6:01 pm

    Miller is a dangerous players.A very good choice of the team.Please notify me when the team NAME,LOGO and SQUADs are announced. Thank you

  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 23, 2017, 2:00 am

    I request you to please release the logo & names because the only less than 30 days for the main DRAFT.


Leave a Comment