Durban Qalandars Players List

Durban Qalandars Team Squad Players List

Durban Qalandars Team Squad Players ListThe coastal city of Durban will be one of the key teams and they will hope that their key player Hashim Amla can guide them to a good season. Owner Fawad Rana has confirmed that name of his team in T20 Global League will be Durban Qalandars. Eoin Morgan will lead the team. Latest Durban squad for the Global League T20 can be found below.

The T20 Global League in South Africa is set to take the country by storm later this year, as it becomes the latest member to join the list of countries to host their own T20 tournaments. Just like the other T20 leagues across the world, the T20 Global League will feature eight city based franchises, who will be competing in a round-robin format, followed by the playoffs.

One of these eight cities is the coastal city of Durban, and the franchise will be owned by Fawad Rana. Rana, who is the managing director of Qatar Oil Company Limited, isn’t new to this field.

Cricket has always been one of his passions, and he successfully pursued it when he decided to own a team in the Pakistan Super League. Lahore Qalandars, as they are called, have had a couple of impressive seasons, and they also became the first team, which agreed to play in Lahore. Kingsmead is the home ground of this side.

Needless to mention, Rana has been an instrumental force in promoting cricket in Pakistan, and now, he is looking overseas to spread the joy of cricket. In his pursuit, he will be aided by his side’s marquee player Hashim Amla, who was born and raised in Durban itself.

Having already established such a profound local connection, the Durban team will now look to build their squad with a perfect mix of local and overseas players.

The first pick by the Durban Qalandars was Eoin Morgan who is the current England ODI and T20I captain but it remains to be seen if the rest of the players signed up by the side will help the team make the knock-outs.

South African all-rounder Chris Morris was also added to the team, while England opener Sam Billings has also been selected. New Zealand speedster Mitchell McClenaghan, who turns up for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL, is a part of the set-up while Pakistani all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez will hope he gets a few chances as well.

The one player to look out for is Fakhar Zaman, the Pakistani opener who smashed a century in the final of the recently-concluded Champions Trophy.

Durban Qalandars have also named Paddy Upton as their head coach, while former Pakistani cricketer Aaquib Javed has appointed bowling coach of the side.

So make sure you follow this page for the latest updates on T20 Global League. Durban Qalandars squad team players list 2017 is placed below.

Durban Qalandars Squad 2017

  • Hashim Amla
  • Eoin Morgan (captain)
  • Paddy Upton (coach)
  • Chris Morris
  • Sam Billings
  • Mitchell McClenaghan
  • Bjorn Fortuin
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Junior Dala
  • Qaasim Adams
  • Migael Pretorius
  • Nicky Van Den Bergh
  • Prenelan Subrayen
  • Kelly Smuts
  • Marques Ackerman
  • Daryn Dupavillon
  • Mthokozisi Shezi
  • Cody Chetty

What will be the Durban Qalandars’ potential Playing XI for the Global League T20 opener?

Hashim Amla, Fakhar Zaman, Eoin Morgan, Mohammad Hafeez, Nicky van den Bergh, Chris Morris, Qaasim Adams, Mitchell McLenaghan, Bjorn Fortuin, Junior Dala, Prenelan Subrayan

10 comments… add one
  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 11, 2017, 4:46 pm

    Notify me named and logo of Durban frachise.

  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 11, 2017, 4:47 pm

    Notify me named and logo of Durban franchise.

  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 23, 2017, 1:42 am

    I like the new logo of Durban Qalandars which is post on Lahore Qalandars facebook.More important the pink and white colours thank you to the owner of the durban franchise.

  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 23, 2017, 1:56 am

    The Lahore & Durban team logo is very good. The logo is almost is only the colours are changed & that what’s l like about the logo.LAHORE colour is RED & BLACK.Where as the logo of the DURBAN colour is PINK & WHITE. I specifically thanks to the owner of the DURBAN team Mr.Fawad RANA for the involvement in the t20 global league.

  • terry naidu August 27, 2017, 6:56 pm

    Was looking forward to going and supporting the Durban based since i live here , but i feel the players we drafted are not wort going to watch, maybe nxt year when we get proper players besides Amal and Morris i dnt see us competing, Captain morgan is the least of all the Marquee players.

    • admin August 28, 2017, 4:27 am

      Keep the faith, Terry, sometimes it’s individuals who might not be the so-called T20 specialists who end up doing well as a team. Hope to see them play well as a unit.

  • Rick Arjunan August 29, 2017, 5:42 am

    I think this squad will be very competitive. Amla, who did exceptionally well for his IPL team recently, is a very good leader and batsman who I’m sure will bring out the best in Morgan and Morris. We saw what Zaman did in the limited overs Champions series recently, so he’s quite a talent there.
    I’m positive this team will be very successful.

  • Nzeeali September 1, 2017, 6:57 am

    fawad rana says on geo super Sarfaz Ahmed Will be the Captain of Derban Qalandar. But he is no where in the squad??

  • Roshaan Tariq September 8, 2017, 6:38 am

    Hashim Amla & Fakhar Zaman will open for Durban Qalandars

  • vikash October 3, 2017, 4:46 am

    not to impressed with the squad.hoped to see more local lads from the dolphins in the Durban franchise.


Leave a Comment