Port Elizabeth Team Squad T20 Global League 2017

Nelson Mandela Bay Stars Team Squad Players List

Nelson Mandela Bay Stars Team Squad Players ListThe Port Elizabeth squad for Global T20 League can be found here. The picturesque town of Port Elizabeth has been chosen as one of the eight cities, to play in the inaugural edition of the T20 Global League.

Imran Tahir was the first marquee player picked up by the Nelson Mandela Bay Stars and they then brought in Kevin Pietersen to their line-up. Pietersen, who has played in multiple leagues around the world only recently announced he’s done playing county cricket but that does mean he’s freed himself up for the other leagues around the world.

The Nelson Mandela Bay Stars went for JJ Smuts as their first pick in the second round of Draft, before bringing in Aiden Makram and Anwar Ali in the following two rounds. Pakistan’s fast bowler Junaid Khan was also picked but he later announced he was tied up by the Bangladesh Premier League which might lead to an interesting situation.

Current South African opener Heino Kuhn is also a part of the Nelson Mandela Bay Stars squad.

The city, which has a great deal of history embedded in it, also houses the iconic St. George’s Park Cricket Ground, the oldest cricket ground in South Africa. The stadium hasn’t seen that much action in the recent years, but that is set to change when the T20 Global League takes the country by storm, later this year.

The credit for putting Port Elizabeth in the league goes to the business Ajay Sethi, who is the chairman of the Channel 2 Group Corporation. Cricket has been one of his keen passion, and he has been a part of this field since 2009, when he won the audio rights for ICC events in Middle East and America. Currently, his company is the global audio partner for all ICC events till 2023. He has been keen on buying a cricket franchise for quite some time now, and he finally achieved it when he purchased the Port Elizabeth franchise.

Having taken the leap now, Sethi will now look to build the perfect team to win the maiden T20 Global League.

Mark Boucher has been handed over the coaching reins of the team after having been a part of the Titans set-up in the Ram Slam T20 Challenge.

The complete list of players, who will be participating in the T20 Global League is still not clear. However, we can expect a lot of quality cricketers and a great deal of entertainment. Nelson Mandela Bay Stars squad team players list 2017 is placed below.

Nelson Mandela Bay Stars 2017 Squad

  • Imran Tahir
  • Kevin Pietersen
  • Jon-Jon Smuts
  • Aiden Markram
  • Anwar Ali
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • Junaid Khan
  • Dawid Malan
  • Sisanda Magala
  • Heino Kuhn
  • Andrew Birch
  • Colin Ackermann
  • Shadley Van Schalkwyk
  • Sibonelo Makhanya
  • Wihan Lubbe
  • Grant Thompson
  • Lesiba Ngoepe
  • Ryan Rickelton

What will be the Port Elizabeth/Nelson Mandela Bay Stars’ potential Playing XI for the Global League T20 opener?

JJ Smuts, Aiden Markram, Heino Kuhn, Kevin Pietersen, Colin Ackermann, Heinrich Klaasen, Anwar Ali, Junaid Khan (subject to BPL approval), Andrew Birch, Sisanda Magala, Imran Tahir

1 comment… add one
  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan July 12, 2017, 1:52 am

    Notify me the PORT ELIZABETH team logo,name and squads. I am very much excited about the t20 GL new teams.


Leave a Comment