T20 Global League Venues

Things are heating up nicely for the T20 Global League as the Cricket South Africa has announced that all 11 South African cricket stadiums which have been accredited by the board to host international games will be in line to host games during this latest T20 tournament.

The eight-team competition kick-starts from November 3, 2017 and the interest for ownership of teams seemed to have sky-rocketed according to news reports. The T20 Global League Final will be hosted at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg and will be played on December 16.

The new teams have been announced and they will be based out Benoni, Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria and Stellenbosch.

The team based out of Bloemfontein will play their matches at Mangaung Oval, Durban will play their matches at Kingsmead, the Cape Town-based side will play at Newlands, Benoni play their games Willowmoore Park, Pretoria’s home games will be at SuperSport Park, Port Elizabeth’s home matches will be hosted by St. Georges Park, Johannesburg play at the New Wanderers Stadium while the team based out of Stellenbosch feature at Boland Park.

The CSA chief Haroon Lorgat had earlier expressed his happiness at the amount of responses that the board got from potential team owners for the GL T20 and based on the winners of those bids, those owners will be asked to pick their base and the venues for their GL matches in the first edition of the tournament.

He added: “The #T20 Global League is aiming to create city rivalry across the country as we look to attract new audiences, especially the youth and families.”

The bids were received on April 18 following which the winning teams were announced on June 19. The venues have also been announced as mentioned above while the Global League schedule for the first ever edition of the tournament. The GL format will be not too different from the Big Bash League in Australia.

T20 GL Venues

  • Stellenbosch (Boland Park)
  • Bloemfontein (Mangaung Oval)
  • Durban (Kingsmead)
  • Pretoria (SuperSport Park)
  • Cape Town (Newlands)
  • Port Elizabeth (St. George’s Park)
  • Johannesburg (Wanderers Stadium)
  • Benoni (Willowmoore Park)
2 comments… add one
  • Hendry August 23, 2017, 8:54 am

    Hi looking for the list of fixtures. Kindly assist.

    NB. Boland Park, Stellenbosch Monarchs home ground is in Paarl.

  • ridwana December 3, 2017, 1:06 pm

    Hi guys want to know why supersport never buy the franchise and why is not televised.


Leave a Comment