T20 Global League Team Owners

T20 Global League teams, owners unveiled on 19th June 2017

t20 global league team ownersThe eight cities & their respective team owners in the T20 Global League have been announced! 11 cities were in the running for the eight teams that will participate in the first ever edition of the Global League T20 and the eight of those that have been chosen by their respective owners are: Durban, Benoni, Pretoria, Stellenbosch, Cape Town, Bloemfontein, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth.

Hashim Amla will turn out for Durban, Quinton de Kock will play for Benoni, Pretoria will be led by AB de Villiers, Cape Town’s marquee player is JP Duminy, David Miller will be a part of Bloemfontein, Faf du Plessis will play at Stellenbosch, Kagiso Rabada will be a part of Johannesburg and Imran Tahir will represent Port Elizabeth.

Interestingly, Shah rukh Khan will be owning Cape Town, making this his third cricketing franchise. He also owns his stake in the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL and the Trinbago Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League. Fawd Nadeem Rana, who also owns the Lahore Qalandars, is the owner of Durban, while Port Elizabeth will be owned by Ajay Sethi.

The GMR Group, owners of the Delhi Daredevils in the IPL, are Johannesburg owners, Javed Afridi will own Benoni, Osman Osman, which is a South Africa Consortium, will be the owners of Pretoria, Sushil Kumar will head the team from Blomfontein and while Mustaq Brey was expected to own Stellenbosch, he has backed out of the deal. The board will now look at bringing in a new owner for Stellenbosch and more information is awaited on this.

The announcement was made in a glittering ceremony that was held at Lord’s in the UK. The player draft will be held on August 19 with more than 400 players having shown interest in featuring in the tournament.

T20 Global League Team Owners Announced

Franchise Owner Team Marquee Player
Shah Rukh Khan Cape Town JP Duminy
Mr Fawad Rana Durban Hashim Amla
GMR Group Johannesburg Kagiso Rabada
Mr Javed Afridi Benoni Quinton de Kock
Mr Osman Osman Pretoria AB de Villiers
Mr Ajay Sethi Port Elizabeth Imran Tahir
TBA Stellenbosch Faf du Plessis
Mr Sushil Kumar Bloemfontein David Miller
1 comment… add one
  • Mohammed Abdul Salaam Khan June 19, 2017, 10:40 pm

    The t20 global league’s owner’s are very much important to their team’s so the the tournament is very much important and entertaining. I thanks to CSA and all the owner’s of GL t20


Leave a Comment